Akron’s first-ever bowl victory turns out to be my first bowl coverage in nine years

Posted: 12/22/2015 in college football
Tags: , ,
Less than one hour before kickoff and where are all the fans?

Less than one hour before kickoff and where are all the fans?

 

I was driving home from my work assignment on Tuesday night and suddenly it hit me:

It had been nine years since I last covered a college football bowl game.

Guess time really does fly because it doesn’t seem that long ago. But Akron’s 23-21 victory over Utah State in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl really was my first bowl coverage since 2006.

The win in the Potato Bowl just happened to be Akron’s first-ever bowl victory. Here is my stellar game story – Akron 23, Utah State 21.

Before Tuesday, the last bowl games I covered were the 2006 Poinsettia Bowl (TCU 37, Northern Illinois 7) and 2006 Holiday Bowl (Cal 45, Texas A&M 10).

The total career coverage ledger breaks down this way: Eight Holiday Bowls, two Poinsettia Bowls and one Rose Bowl. And now one Potato Bowl.

Should’ve covered even more but San Diego State was allergic to bowl games during my eight seasons on the beat. Not a single winning record by the Aztecs.

Of course, I’ve covered three Super Bowls but we can’t lump that type of bowl in with the college bowls.

Who knows, maybe I will decide to cover the Potato Bowl next December too.

Leave a Reply

