I’m sure you have all been bracing for my Super Bowl prediction ever since I nailed last year’s winner.

The best thing about having your own Web site is being able to prove I picked the Green Bay Packers to defeat the Pittsburgh Steelers. Yes sir. Just check the archives.

But now another Super Bowl is upon us and the pressure is on as the New England Patriots and New York Giants are now one hour away from kickoff.

The MrSportsBlog scientists, researchers and mechanics have unearthed all the necessary data and are counting on me to come up with the correct pick.

Sure don’t want the MrSportsBlog marketing department or the secretaries asking what went wrong tomorrow morning.

Yeah, the pressure is overwhelming.

This is not an easy life I lead.

I covered these same two teams in the Super Bowl four short years ago in Glendale, Ariz., when the Giants kept the Patriots from setting history with an impressive victory. New England was undefeated entering the contest and prohibitive favorites.

The night before the game, I had a good feeling the Giants were going to pull the upset. Problem was my prediction was already in the books for a New England victory because the newspaper I worked for insisted they needed my preview matchups and game prediction on Wednesday. Yeah, four days before the game.

In other words, no chance at matching my famous prediction of Super Bowl XXXXII in San Diego. While everybody else was picking Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers to annihilate the Denver Broncos that Super Bowl Sunday, I correctly forecasted the upset. (Yep, it was in print the morning of the game).

That was the famous contest when John Elway won his first Super Bowl ring and Terrell Davis overcame in-game migraine headaches to run for 157 yards and three touchdowns. One of the top sporting events I have covered.

So I’m not locked into anything this year as kickoff approaches and I keep thinking about how I picked the Giants to win their two playoff games this season when the so-called experts were picking teams like the Green Bay Packers and New Orleans Saints to be the top Super Bowl candidates in the NFC.

I only picked the Saints to win one playoff game and I correctly picked the Giants to work over the Packers. My only mistake was saying the San Francisco 49ers would beat the Giants on a last-second field goal in the NFC title game.

I regretted that pick well before Kyle Williams messed up for the first time and the Giants ended up winning the game in overtime.

Of course, I picked the New England Patriots to win both their playoff games and picked them to be in the Super Bowl prior to the season.

It’s hard to believe the Patriots have gone seven years since last winning a Super Bowl. But somehow the legend of Bill Belichick and Tom Brady continues to grow.

Hmmmmm, have you seen New England’s shaky defense? That back end is not Super Bowl-quality.

I like New York’s receivers, particularly Hakeem Nicks and Victor Cruz, and see them as the difference-makers in this matchup.

Giants coach Tom Coughlin is no slouch and Eli Manning also has a Super Bowl MVP trophy on the mantle at home.

Hold on, the MrSportsBlog welder has entered the room … he is whispering me some information … good secret stuff too.

That’s it – I see the result. You can now book this prediction.

Giants by a touchdown over the Patriots.

Leave a Reply

