Wednesday’s Super Bowl report: Saints’ Colston doesn’t boast about his skills

Posted: 02/04/2010 in football
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the top young receivers in the NFL will get a chance to excel in the Super Bowl spotlight and create added name identity for himself.

Hey, put down that Indianapolis Colts roster. It’s the New Orleans Saints roster that you should be scanning.

Marques Colston has three 1,000-yard seasons during his four-year NFL career but doesn’t get nearly the hype that some of the me-first receivers who dot the NFL landscape get. But that doesn’t bother him in the slightest.

“That’s fine with me,” Colston said during Wednesday’s Super Bowl media period. “For me, it’s all about being respected by my peers. I think as long as I continue to work and do the things that I’m doing, I’ll earn that respect.”

Colston caught 70 passes for 1,038 yards and eight touchdowns this season. His best NFL campaign was in 2008 when he set career-highs for receptions (98), yardage (1,202) and touchdown catches (11).

Part of why Colston flies under the radar has to do with the fact he played small-college football at Hofstra instead of playing for a big-time powerhouse. The Saints plucked him in the seventh round of the 2006 NFL Draft with the 252nd overall choice. There were 255 total picks with 31 wide receivers selected before Colston had his name called.

But you will never hear Colston boasting about proving so many people wrong.

“I just like to go out and handle my business and do what I’m supposed to do,” Colston said. “It just so happens that this is the biggest stage probably in the world that day. Hopefully people will get the opportunity to see exactly what I can do.”

No texting time for Wayne

Indianapolis’ 100-catch receiver, Reggie Wayne, is from New Orleans so you know his cell phone is burning up more than usual.

“I turned my phone on (Wednesday) morning, the first thing that popped up was 40 text messages,” Wayne said. “I immediately cut it back off. I can imagine what all those text messages are saying, but that’s the beauty of it. That’s the fun of it.

“If I look at all those text messages and reply, we’ll be talking all day. You just have to enjoy it, love it, live the moment, have fun with it, and just hope everything works out in your favor.

“I guarantee you in this game Sunday, if we take care of business the way we should, I’ll be happy to look at all those text messages and answer them back.”

Wednesday’s injury report

Indianapolis defensive end Dwight Freeney (ankle) headed the list of three players who missed practice. Colts cornerback Jerraud Powers (foot) and New Orleans running back Lynell Hamilton (ankle) also sat out. Hamilton played college football at San Diego State.

Leave a Reply

